I know well I have no right to love you:

I know well I have no right to love you:


I gave you up, and now you’re with my friend.
But I can’t stop myself from thinking of you,
Even though that’s not what I intend.
I want you but I also don’t want you
To hurt my friend by breaking up with her.
So things go wrong no matter what you do;
I long for what I don’t want to occur.
Ah, me! I’m in a soap and can’t get out!
Help me if you can by being kind.
I tell you this to banish any doubt
That I’ll be waiting, if you’re so inclined.
But please, please, if my friend still has your love,
Forget completely what I’ve spoken of.

Music: The Star of County Down
Sequenced by Barry Taylor.

Leave a Reply

